Day 6: Kids on the Slope

Day 6: Kids on the Slope

Anime You Haven’t Seen But Want To

https://i0.wp.com/anime-focus.com/images/2012/09/kids-on-the-slope.jpg

Set in the summer of 1966, introverted high school freshman, Koaru Nishimi, moves to a new town to live with relatives. Once an honor student, Kaoru begins to change after meeting the delinquent, Sentaro Kawabuchi. Kaoru slowly begins to discover what it is like to have fun, play music, and make a real friend (Sentaro).

The main reason I know that I will enjoy this anime is because it is a slice of life. I really tend to enjoy Josei, Slice of Life series that involve growing up and making friends. Another reason I believe I will enjoy this anime is because it is directed by Shinichiro Watanabe. Watanabe frequently ruins my life; one such instance would be Terror in Resonance and Space Dandy.

Shinichiro Watanabe is an astounding director and writer who has proven to be diverse in the series he has directed. Shinichiro Watanabe has been involved in Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, Space Dandy, Kids on the Slope, and Terror in Resonance. To me, Shinichiro Watanabe is one of the best directors in anime because his works span so many genres including Sci-fi, Historical, Slice of Life, and Drama. He is one of my favorite directors and I am hoping that will never change.

I am looking forward to watching Kids on the Slope because the animation looks interesting, the plot seems refreshing, and Yoko Kanno’s music plays a factor as well.

Leave a Reply

