Orenchi no Furo Jijo First Impression (Ep. 1 & 2)

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-Nwjdz6a5uiA/VDVxbdJPFKI/AAAAAAAAeiI/6i3NVSDlf_I/w817-h459-no/Screen%2Bshot%2B2014-10-06%2Bat%2B11.30.01%2BAM.png Orenchi no Furo Jijo Episodes 1 & 2 Upon opening Orenchi in Crunchyroll, I was depressed to find that the episodes were only four minutes long! How could I possibly get my fill of a beautiful bishonen merman and his housemate/savior, Tatsumi?

The other thing that I noticed right away was how serious and intense the opening theme was! It was truly a contrast in comparison to how polished and pretty the art is. The art is crisp and clean with a bubbly sort of feeling. The blushing colorations on the skin is superb. The only thing I don’t like? Wakasa’s weird hair fin.

To me, Tatsumi seems a bit…strange. When he first finds Wakasa, he doesn’t even notice his tail. Tatsumi rushes over to a man collapsed on the side of a stream and immediately decides to take him home…I understand that Tatsumi is probably a caring person but I seriously do not understand how he didn’t notice that Wakasa was not human. Of course, after being bossed around and being forced to take a bath with a merman in his tub, it is clear that he begins to hate his life.

After the first episode, I could only describe the show as ‘hilariously adorable’ and I was glad that we were two episodes behind.

Now we move on to episode two. In episode two, there is a severe emergency! Tatsumi’s water bill is through the roof as Wakasa keeps adding more and more hot water to the bath. The two struggle to make ends meet by adjusting their lifestyles to conserve heat and water. “The severe circumstances of my household budget” describes real life.

In this episode, Wakasa proves how much of a lazy, worthless creature he is. And of course, Wakasa becomes compliant when Tatsumi mentions that he may have to use tofu in the hamburgers. As of right now, Orenchi no Furo Jijo is adorable and drops shonen-ai-like references all over the place.

If I were to list two things I like about each character, I would start with Wakasa. Wakasa is beautiful in his design, with his flushed cheeks and shoulders, and blue eyes that match his tail. Wakasa is silly and being that he is lazy, I feel like I can relate to him. The first thing I like about Tatsumi is his apathetic nature but concern for important things such as his budget. The second thing I like, isn’t necessarily about Tatsumi himself but that he is voiced by Nobunaga Shimazaki, the voice of Haruka Nanase from Free!

While I rarely enjoy nonsensical, no-plot anime series with short episodes, I really enjoy Orenchi no Furo Jijo. I plan to watch it until the end and maybe read the manga.

Score: 2 fins up!

Leave a Reply

