Day 16: Un-go is Beautiful

I would like to apologize for this post being late, but I had a lot of homework to do yesturday and then was tired so I said, “Ugh, I guess I’ll go the post tomorrow,” and then went to bed. The ‘ugh’, for the record, was not at making the post but at the fact that I was going to be unable to do, which upset me, but I was quite tired and decided sleeping was the better option.

When I think of best animation I interpret this to mean a show that looks good overall. From the art to the animation, everything is crisp and nice. That said, my pick for show with the best animation is Un-Go. I don’t know how many people reading this even like Un-Go. I don’t know how many of you enjoyed it like I did or if you think I’m wrong because some characters have more pointy features than others. However, I will disagree with you. First, this is an opinion, and second, I think the pointy features of certain characters give them their own unique appearance.

I would like to say that I love Un-Go despite the fact that it likes to present itself as a detective show when it really isn’t much of one. I understand that the show isn’t the best, and it never will be, but that doesn’t change how much I enjoy watching it. I was excited when Sentai not only got the rights for it but dubbed it (and it was a dub I don’t mind!). However, I suppose this isn’t what we came to talk about, is it?

Okay, on to the art and animation. Un-go was the first show I thought of for this category and it mostly stems around the character of Inga. Inga regularly transforms into a busty women (which is extremely strange) in a beautifully bizarre couple second sequence, but more than that, what follows might be the reason I give this day to Un-Go. Inga has a special ability to force someone to answer one question. They cannot lie and the ridiculous scene of Inga turning into a skeleton and like, force feeding them butterflies? Disturbing, but so incredibly beautiful and well animated.

I’ll leave you with the opening for the show because I was unable to find a clip of Inga asking someone a question. Still Inga isn’t the only reason I give this day to Un-Go. Un-Go is also consistent with its art and animation and I can’t remember there ever being a drop in quality. The show always looks smooth and fresh. Even if you don’t like the story I believe we can agree that it is one pretty show.

P.S. Have any of you seen Un-Go? Did you enjoy it?

Leave a Reply

