Day 28: Haru’s view of the future

There’s an old saying my late grandma taught me. When you’re ten, they call you prodigy. When you’re fifteen, they call you a genius. Once you hit twenty, you’re just an ordinary person. About three years until I’m ordinary. Man… I can’t wait to be ordinary.” – Haruka Nanase

This quote comes from the opening scene of Free! Iwatobi Swim Club. It immediately grabbed my intention because when I first watched Free! I didn’t expect to like. I didn’t expect to love. I expected to think it was ‘meh’ and move on with my life. That’s not quite what happened however; I now openly love the show and the story, not to mention the growth of the characters.

I didn’t pick this quote simply because of the impression it gave me when I first watched the show. No. It goes deeper than that, straight to the last line. “I can’t wait to be ordinary.” I’m not a genius or anything like that. I’m no Haru swimming god. I am however a person that for a long time believed that I was the problem in my life. That I was the reason people didn’t like me or thought I was strange and all I wanted was to be ordinary. Like ordinary was some kind of fruit that once you ate it everyone would treat you like you were a person and you mattered and maybe I just missed the ceremony where I got the magic fruit of acceptance and happiness.

I have since been able to change my line of thinking. I understand that there are people who like me and people who are total a**holes that won’t even be polite to me. That’s why I try as hard as I can to be polite when I go out. I try to be polite at stores and restaurants so that I don’t make anyone else feel like they are less of a person. I don’t want anyone to feel like that.

That’s why when I started Free! and this was the line that I got first I was surprised. It connected with me immediately and helped create a bond between me and the character of Haru. So this is my favorite anime quote but what is everybody elses? Feel free to leave a comment and tell us what quotes you like! We will always try to reply!

BONUS HARU QUOTE: I’m used to being mistaken for a girl.” -Haruka Nanase
The moment that this quote happened in the show, I also understood completely. Except for me it is the opposite. I’m used to being mistaken for a boy. Just like Haru, whose full name is Haruka, my name Trystan has lead me to be mistook for a boy when the person only looked at my name. I can’t tell you the amount of times a teacher called my name and expected a boy or used the word he and then someone had to inform them that I’m a girl. *sigh* Real life problems here guys.

One thought on “Day 28: Haru’s view of the future

Leave a Reply

