Kill la Kill Episode 2: FAN(DIS)SERVICE FOR ALL

Episode Description (from crunchyroll): “Weakened by her battle, Ryuko flees Honnouji Academy before collapsing in the street. Rescued, she’s given food and shelter for night, and upon returning to the Academy faces off against Omiko Hakodate, the Girls’ Tennis Club Captain, to repay the favor.”

Ryuko’s face describes my feelings.

Review: So episode 2 and I’m still trying to give Kill la Kill a fair shot. I want to think the show is ok but I’m confronted with a show I can barely watch as of now. I do see it getting better. I see it not being a complete waste its entire run but that’s not helping me now. Right now I’m being shown fanservice that isn’t tasteful in any way. (That goes for Ryuko and her teacher).

This episode was an even more strange continuation of the first. Ryuko attempts badly to get Satsuki to give her information but ends up running away due to blood loss. Oh, yeah, don’t remember that fun fact? The neato school uniform Ryuko wears feeds on her blood. Apparently all the time, like the whole time she uses it. So now at the end of her battle she is weak from blood loss and she needs to leave before passing out. She just barely makes it out alive but does get picked up by some kids and taken to a ‘back alley doctor’ who just so happens to be Mako Mankanshoku’s father.

She goes back to the school the next day after being treated and immediately gets in another fight but loses this time. Her loss has her thrown into a drain. She is then picked up by her teacher who deems it necessary to take off her clothes and the proceeds to start stripping while giving Ryuko a lesson about her Kamui.

And this is where I tell you that I’m disgusted by the fanservice. There seems to be no point for any of this. There could be, I’ll give you that. This teacher could be some weirdo who likes to take his clothes off but when it comes out of nowhere and he also took Ryuko’s clothes off it leaves me lost and confused.

That said the battle between Ryuko and the tennis lady was good. The tennis action was done well despite the very strange poses Ryuko got put in. So overall there were good points and bad points of this episode and I’m really very unsure of where this series is going.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

