Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! First Impressions: “The Sparkling Prince is gonna sparkle your sparkles off.”

The magical boys

As a very big fan of magical girl shows I can tell you that this is everything I’ve ever wanted. Alyssa can attest to you about how I complain that there aren’t any magical boys. There are a couple shows that have included boys in their plots, even one that allows two boys to transform, but neither of these shows have a real focus on the boys in their plot. However, Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! (or Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE! In Japanese) is a different story. It’s the story I’ve been waiting for, the one we all deserve.

The only downside is that it lacks the seriousness for me to call it a true Magical Boy show. It comes off more as a satire to the magical girl genre and all the ridiculousness that comes with that (Trust me; Precure has this stuff down pat). This isn’t to say a satire is a bad thing, it’s not. In fact, it was quite hilarious. From the beginning scene in the bathhouse and the introduction of Wombat down to their forced speeches (a magical girl must) and their transformations, it was comedic gold.

For those who have never seen a magical girl show just understand that all of this stuff is normal. Just replace the boys with girls and take away the part where the boys try to runaway (the girls always seem to just accept the stuff and move on). People must be thinking that “the mascot is ridiculous, the outfits are strange (but great), and the monsters? Please, I’ve seen better.” But this is seriously par for the magical girl course and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

I also don’t know any of their names. Minus the one with green hair who has the yellow outfit. His name is Io but I only remember that because they say it once and I watched the episode twice. (I do understand some of the other names are there but his is seriously the only one I remember). I know that I’ll learn their names soon enough but that is something I felt they did wrong. I remembered everything else about the show but I can’t remember the names. And they say the blond kid’s name multiple times! Like, I must have been too distracted by everything that was happening. This show moves quickly and doesn’t leave time for a whole lot of thought. That said I am eagerly awaiting the next episode.

P.S. Also there no known episode count yet and I’m hoping that means it’s longer than 12 episodes. Like, I’m praying for it to be at least 25. Is anyone else watching Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE!? There has to be a better way to say that. Fine, from this point forward we are calling it the Magical Boys show. We’ll all know what I’m talking about.

The villians!
One thought on “Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! First Impressions: “The Sparkling Prince is gonna sparkle your sparkles off.”

Leave a Reply

