Alyssa: Spring Season 2015: Week 1

Plastic Memories Episodes 1 & 2

Plastic Memories is pain. Basically, this guy named Tsukasa works with an android named Isla to retrieve the memories of other robots, known as Giftias, and shut them down before their end date. One could say these robots are similar to Persocoms in Chobits, however, they have false souls implanted in their bodies and they only live roughly 9 years and 4 months. I didn’t expect a show to hurt so much, so early…but alas, I teared up from episode one alone. There are frequent hints throughout the first episode and most of the second that Isla is near the end of near own lifespan or expiration. She only has 83 days to live. This is going to bring me a lot of pain and sadness, despite the fact I keep telling myself not to get attached.

https://jikman.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/mika-x-yuu.jpg?w=900

Seraph of the End Episodes 1 & 2

On a scale of 1-10, how much angry shouting and tweeting did I do during Owari no Seraph? 11. I was very upset, even going into the show and knowing that the main kid’s friends were all going to die. Yuichirou has a very ‘Eren Jaeger’ “kill all vampires” mindset because of the death of his friends. Even so, I believe he is a likable character deep down and I look forward to seeing how he grows (and suffers) throughout the series. There are already other characters that I am in love with like Yoichi, Yu’s first real friend on the outside world and Lieutenant Colonel Guren Ichinose, AKA Tall Dark and Sexual (he’s our new husband; yes, we know we are trash). Anyway, if you can look past the fact that the opening theme has already spoiled some major points, then I highly recommend this show. As for me, I’m still dwelling on how a certain character is alive and how this will affect Yu.

https://i2.wp.com/image.adkami.com/1425.jpg

My Love Story!! Episodes 1 & 2

The characters in this show are all very lovable and very stupid. I frequently found myself suffering from secondhand embarrassment due to Gouda’s, the main character, actions. I think this anime is very refreshing, as it is a love story between an unattractive male (and yes! They drew him pretty unattractive) and a petite, princess-type girl. The art somehow reminds me of a very updated Hana Yori Dango, with there being an extreme likeness between Rui Hanazawa(HYD) and Makoto (the main character’s best friend). I really love seeing MadHouse’s diversity from Death Parade to this. So far the show is very cute albeit a bit cringe-worthy because of the naivette of the main couple-to-be.

https://geekorner.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/food-wars-shokugeki-no-soma-episode-1-18-26_2015-04-04_00-36-27.jpg?w=640&h=360

Food Wars Episode 1

Speaking of cringe-worthy…Let’s talk Food Wars. Actually…I’d rather not. I can’t really go into detailed feelings about this show but it seems as though people reach a heightened sense of pleasure when eating the main kid’s food. And don’t think I dislike it because of all of the “sexualization” of women. No, this show sexualizes men and women alike, showing scenes of sauce from the food spraying from the genitals of those who come to buy the shop the kid’s dad runs. I won’t lie to you, however, the scene with the girl eating peanut butter tentacles made me highly uncomfortable. I don’t want to go into details as to why… Food Wars is very over the top though, so I can’t hate it very easily. It makes me uncomfortable but for now I will continue to watch it.

https://i0.wp.com/adala-news.fr/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Rinne-anime-image-007.png

Kyoukai no Rinne Episodes 1 & 2

Ah, yes, Kyoukai no Rinne (Rin-ne in English). I really enjoyed this show though I frequently found myself asking ‘WTF.’ The main character is a poor cheapskate who is, presumably, half-human and half-shinigami. This story feels…how do I describe it… “Very Rumiko.” To me, this is not a bad thing at all. I actually loved the Ranma ½ manga and I grew up on InuYasha. That being said, I love all of the ridiculous hijinx in this show.

https://i1.wp.com/i.imgur.com/QXuKT4S.png

The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan Episodes 1 & 2

I think I enjoyed Disappearance of Nagato quite a bit more than Trystan. I’ve always wanted more Yuki, especially after the Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya movie. I’ve always been a fan of Kyon X Yuki. While I know such a statement is blasphemous, I have never been a huge fan of Haruhi herself or the way she treats Kyon. My main problem with this show, aside from how the art looks on some characters, is Yuki’s personality. I am not a huge fan of how shy and…well…dumb they’ve made Yuki. Even so, I intend to keep watching through to the end of the 16 episodes.

https://i0.wp.com/i.ytimg.com/vi/QVqWTN3zIqE/maxresdefault.jpg

Show By Rock!! Episodes 1 & 2

Show By Rock!! Is a very cute and interesting little show by Sanrio. I really enjoy the character designs of almost all of the characters except Retoree who has a stereotypical tsundere character design…but with a tail. The show follows Cyan Hijirikawa who just wants to join the band at school. However, one night while she is playing a rhythm game, she is sucked into MIDICITY (cute name, right?). Here, a lot of stuff happens and Cyan joins the band Plasmagica. I don’t really mind the CGI in the show, as it is an established point that these are forms the musicians take when performing. The animation and CGI look nice together, which is not normally something I would say. Overall, I think this show is cute but I’m wondering if Cyan will ever return to her own world.

Leave a Reply

