Alyssa: Spring 2015: Week 6

Blood Blockade Battlefront 2

This series continued to be fast paced this week. Leo was kidnapped after discovering the identity of monsters posing as a dry cleaning business. I had an “Aha!” moment when I saw Zapp wipe his blood on Leo’s jacket. I was happy to discover that he did, in fact, use his own blood to track Leo.

I loved the opening and ending themes. I love anime themes with dancing (like Death Parade) and it’s no surprise that the ending theme made me grin.

                                My Love Story!! 7

So, I know I say it all the time but this series is just so cute. This week, Takeo temporarily joined the judo club to help them win an important tournament. However, with practice happening, Takeo and Yamato were unable to see each other. Sunakawa proves to be as good a friend as always and as the three look at the stars it is clear just how much Takeo and Yamato belong together.

I’m not sure if I mentioned this before but it makes me really happy that this is a shoujo series with a male lead. My Love Story is a fun series with beautiful animation.

Plastic Memories 7

Plastic Memories continues to be a very bittersweet series. I absolutely adored this episode when Tsukasa and Isla went on a date to the amusement park. Tsukasa convinced Isla to actually ride the rides but in the end, he ends up passing out from a fever. I’m just really happy they got to enjoy their date.

Kyoukai no Rinne 7

Enter Masato – a demon who has had a grude against Rinne since elementary school. Masato is hilarious an, in a sense, clever (using Rinne’s weakness for money against him.) Surprisingly, Jumonji didn’t appear once during this crazy, silly episode. I am interested to see how Masato will continue to pop up and wreak havoc for everyone. Like always, Rinne has kept me interested through Sakura’s snark and Rinne’s poor man woes.

Seraph of the End 7

We finally get introduced to the blond girl from the opening theme. Her name is Mitsuba Sangu and she is pretty bratty. She has her reasons for getting upset with Yuuichirou when he charges into battle but the way she handles things isn’t right. I’d also like to point out that I hate the way Shinoa didn’t stop Yuu until the end, despite being the boss of the group.

As for the dub: I DESPISE Yoichi’s voice. It is way too deep and doesn’t sound nearly as sweet. For heaven’s sakes, his Japanese voice is the same man who plays Karma Akabane (Assassination Classroom) and Nishinoya (Haikyuu!). In Japanese, his voice is very soft and sweet. Shinoa’s voice is also a little deeper than expected and she seems to talk through her nose. I thought all of the gay jokes towards Yuu were funny but didn’t make up for my dislike of the voices in this show. Solusod sounded less like Johnny Yong Bosch as older Yuu. Also…instead of pronouncing is “Yaw-muh-naw-kuh” they said “Yuh-monica” in English for Yamanaka…it was very irritating.

Show by Rock!! 7

AHHHHHH! Okay. I honestly felt like screaming at the end of this episode. I was extremely happy when ShinganCrimsonz was able to take down the monster in this episode…What bothered me was something from the monster crawling up Aion’s leg. The plot is still going strong in Show By Rock and it has my full attention again.

On a different note, I amreally worried to see if/how FUNi will dub the songs in this show. I love the music in this show and I just don’t think it would sound as good in English.

The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan episode 7

As Trystan stated, this episode was like all of the other episodes. This show has been proven to be a bit repetitive but…so was the original Haruhi series. It would always be everyone hanging out and then a bunch of hijinks. Koizumi and Haruhi spent a lot of time together this episode and I don’t think I have ever shipped them as hard as I do right now. I absolutely loved Mikuru in this episode and it hurts because I never liked her in the original series. I also love having more Tsuruya and Asakura but I do wish to see more of Kyon’s friends.

Food Wars 7

Soma participates in his first Shokugeki in hopes to keep the Don RS alive. Mito Ikumi uses the finest meat and incredible butchering techniques in her cooking style. We also learn that due to her being an heir to her family, she was not allowed to be girly. In the end, her Don is not as true to tradition and doesn’t make everyone want to scarf it down. Thus, Soma wins the Shokugeki. And with the information he gathered, he decides not to join Don RS (much to Ikumi’s disappointment).

Leave a Reply

